October 2022 Reads

Happy October! Officially 19 days late, but I’m here. October has to be one of my favorite months. I love anything spooky. Not saying Halloween is my favorite holiday, but give me a month of nothing but scary movies and I’m there! And with that being said, I was only able to read 2 books this month. Since I’m starting a new job on Saturday, I’m really trying to get prepared for that. Also balance will come into play because reading is something that I love to do and I do not want to give it up anytime soon. On to what I read….

The Year of the Witching: Alexis Henderson

This is a story about a girl named Immanuelle Moore and her longing to find out about who she is. All she ever knew growing up was that her mother didn’t follow the Father’s word and that her mother brought shame upon her family. But one night, Immanuelle finds herself in the woods that no one is allowed to go in and she meets these two women who hand her a book. She takes the book and she realizes that it’s her mother’s. Then all these troubling events start to take place once Immanuelle realizes who those women were and who and what her mother was doing with them.

Once you get past chapter two, the story really starts to take off. This was my fist time reading anything like this. I really enjoyed the witch aspects of the story.

The Shadows: Alex North

How can I explain…This book was a WOW in my eyes. This is about a guy named Paul who after 25 years away, finally comes back home. His mother is sick and he wants to be there for her. But after 25 years of being away, all these memories come rushing back to him about a crime that happened to him and his friends. When a detective shows up because of her case that has happened miles away, 2 more murders occur. There’s something about the woods that keeps making people in that town scared. There’s a lot of twists and turns with this book. It’s fast paced. I also enjoyed the spooky feel to it. I personally don’t do the woods either, so I can understand lol.

I was happy that I found these two books especially for the month of October. These two books gave me the spooky vibes that I was hoping for. Although I didn’t read my usual 3 or 4 books this month, I’m glad I pushed myself to read these.

Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a comment